Robert Christgau: Dean of American Rock Critics

Consumer Guide:
  User's Guide
  Grades 1990-
  Grades 1969-89
  And It Don't Stop
  Book Reports
  Is It Still Good to Ya?
  Going Into the City
  Consumer Guide: 90s
  Grown Up All Wrong
  Consumer Guide: 80s
  Consumer Guide: 70s
  Any Old Way You Choose It
  Don't Stop 'til You Get Enough
Xgau Sez
  And It Don't Stop
  CG Columns
  Rock&Roll& [new]
  Rock&Roll& [old]
  Music Essays
  Music Reviews
  Book Reviews
  NAJP Blog
  Rolling Stone
  Video Reviews
  Pazz & Jop
Web Site:
  Site Map
  What's New?
Carola Dibbell:
  Carola's Website
CG Search:
Google Search:
Any Old Way You Choose It:
Rock and Other Pop Music, 1967-1973

Expanded Edition, 2000, Cooper Square Press, 360 pages.
Original Edition, 1973, Penguin Books, 330 pages.

From the back cover of the Expanded Edition:
In this collection of more than forty pieces, Robert Christgau shows why he is a leading critical voice. With an ability to pack more insight into a single phrase than most critics can work into a lengthy piece, he rarely misses the mark. Any Old Way You Choose It examines a wide array of artists--from Joni Mitchell to the New York Dolls, from Barbra Streisand to Frank Zappa--as well as the descent from Monterey to Altamont, sexism in rock, the commercial pitfalls of the pop game, and the ethics and aesthetics of the marketplace.

From prescient observations on Bob Dylan and the Eagles to trenchant discussions of Stevie Wonder and Tom Jones, this book amply illustrates the integrity, acumen, and sense of humor that make Christgau's most acerbic pronouncements impossible to dismiss. Newly expanded with essays on Wilson Pickett, Jefferson Airpland, and Captain Beefheart, Any Old Way You Choose It is an indelible testament of the enduring power of rock and roll.

Table of Contents

  1. A Counter in Search of a Culture
  2. Secular Music
  3. Consumer Guide (1)
  4. Rock & Roll &
  5. Consumer Guide (16)
  6. Leaders and Parking Meters
  7. Consumer Guide (31)
  8. Weird Scenes After the Gold Rush
  9. Appendix: Weird No Longer
  10. Index to the Original Edition



Larger Photo