Robert Christgau: Dean of American Rock Critics

Consumer Guide:
  User's Guide
  Grades 1990-
  Grades 1969-89
  Expert Witness
  Book Reports
  Is It Still Good to Ya?
  Going Into the City
  Consumer Guide: 90s
  Grown Up All Wrong
  Consumer Guide: 80s
  Consumer Guide: 70s
  Any Old Way You Choose It
  Don't Stop 'til You Get Enough
Xgau Sez
  CG Columns
  Rock&Roll& [new]
  Rock&Roll& [old]
  Music Essays
  Music Reviews
  Book Reviews
  NAJP Blog
  Rolling Stone
  Video Reviews
  Pazz & Jop
Web Site:
  Site Map
  What's New?
Carola Dibbell:
  Carola's Website
CG Search:
Google Search:


  • Argent [Epic, 1970] B
  • The Argent Anthology: A Collection of Greatest Hits [Epic, 1976] C+

Consumer Guide Reviews:

Argent [Epic, 1970]
"Dance in the Smoke" is to "Time of the Season" as "Time of the Season" was to "She's Not There," extending ex-Zombie keyboardist-vocalist-composer Rod Argent's pop breathiness another quantum away from cuteness and toward incantation. Add ex-Unit 4 + 2 guitarist-composer Russ Ballard's ceremonial "Liar," and the whole first side works as a catchy mystical ritual with the worries of the world going up in flame at the climax. On side two, however, they reappear. B

The Argent Anthology: A Collection of Greatest Hits [Epic, 1976]
Only on "Hold Your Head Up" did they ever get back to the gentle intensity that made their debut half a delight. With Rod Argent seeing Keith Emerson in the mirror and Russ Ballard contributing such FM fodder as "God Gave Rock and Roll to You," this is a more graphic document of what happened to the '60s than you want to hear. C+